Name Patmos was in honor of the eponymous Greek island, where holy Apostle Yoan the Theologian once prayed. First temple of St. John the Evangelist, was built in Chemal in 1849, and it was built not on the island but nearby. Old St. John the Theologian temple was moved to the island of Patmos in 1915. Bishop Innokkentyi Byisknt Biysk consecrated it on August 9, 1915. The temple was destroyed in 1920, and only 80 years later, in 2000, it was rebuilt and consecrated by bishop of Barnaul and Altay Anthony in the name of St. John the Theologian and submitted to Barnaul convent. Today the island of Patmos is the female hermitage of St. John the Theologian Barnaul Znamensky monastery.
Currently, St. John the Evangelist church on the island of Patmos is women's hermitage, where services are held. At the same time it is opened to visit for all comers. Suspension bridge is over the Katun. There is a church store on the left side before descending. From the bridge image of the Mother carved in the rock by Barnaul Znamensky monastery sculptor Felofeey is visible. To the left of trail you can see the icon of biblical story of worship magus to Christ Child in Bethlehem cave made in rock.